Chakra beej asan


Yog is not about twisting and turning yourself into knots and complicated postures, yog taps into the power of consciousness. As you practice yog in totality, as prescribed, you start glowing and the immunity of the body heightens, slowly you begin to exude the glow of the sun.I have been practicing yog under Yogi Ashwini for over four years now, and have personally experienced amazing changes in my state of health and glow.

The body that we greet in the mirror everyday is run by a higher force, which is invisible to the naked eye but very clearly visible to a clairvoyant in the form of colours and to a clairaudient in the form of specific sounds. These colours and sounds correspond to certain energy centers in the body, which control and govern various body parts and functions. Much before you identify symptoms of a disease or ailment and decide to visit a doctor, these symptoms are perceived by a yogic practitioner in the form of change in colour, texture, size and sound of various chakras.


Sanatan Kriya prescribes various techniques under the topic of self-healing to access this invisible sheath of the body and through the power of consciousness to affect desired changes in the body and surroundings. In this series of articles, I will be taking you through the chakra beej kriya which comprises of a set of asans and dhwanis to tap into the phenomenal power of six major chakras in the body, namely, Mooladhar, Swadhishthan, Manipoorak, Anahad, Vishuddhi and Agya.

The reader may note here that asans are not exercises. They are the gradual process of evolution in the body effectuated under sanidhya of a Guru. They are to be performed gently and with internal awareness. A mantra is codified form of energy in the form of sound and must be channelized by the siddha of the mantra for expanding consciousness.

It is through consciousness and heightened awareness achieved through asans and mantras that the body becomes healthy. When the body is healthy, one gets experience of the subtler world and is in bliss all the time.


Start by paying reverence to the energy of Guru and Lord Ganesh.


Next, perform the basic joint rotations to warm up the body (the same are detailed on A warm up is essential to awaken the chakras and energy channels in the body. As you warm up, gradually the energy levels increase.

Strengthening the Spine

A strong and supple spine is a prerequisite for yog. The movement of energy happens through the spine only. If the spine is healthy, you are healthy. We have discussed the asans for strengthening the spine in earlier articles. It is highly recommended that you practice them and strengthen the back before attempting chakra beej asans.

Chakra Beej Asans

Next you put pressure on various chakras of the body to pull the energy upwards from the mool uptil the agya. As you perform this kriya, gradually the glow increases and breath stablises. The energy that has been generated is directed towards strengthening various parts of the body through these asans and beej mantras.

Mooladahar (Base Chakra): Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is the seat of phenomenal force of the kundalini. Mooladhar is the base chakra for humans; it is the highest in animals. It controls the survival instinct. Ruled by the earth element, it governs the skeletal and muscular system in the body. The colour of mooladhar ranges between brown to golden yellow, depending upon the evolutionary state of an individual. The beej mantra for this chakra is LAM. 

Take your awareness to your breath at the tip of the nostrils. Watch the rhythmic pattern of breath at this point and with every subsequent inhalation, make your breath longer and deeper. Maintaining the awareness of mool chakra, start with the chant of LAM. Keep the chant deep and slow. Continue with the chant as we graduate into the asans for mooladhar.

Vrikshasana (Tree Pose): Stand tall with arms by the side of your body. Bend your right knee, bringing the right foot high upto your left thigh, such that the sole of the foot rests firmly near the root of the thigh. Find yourself a perfect crevice where your foot can firmly hold itself there. Ensure the left leg is straight and not bent. As your body is in balance, gently raise your arms over the head and join your palms in a Namaskar position. Maintain the awareness of mool chakra and the chant of LAM. With every exhalation, relax your body. Gently bring your hands down and your right leg. Repeat this posture with the other leg.

This asan should not be attempted by people with problems of knee or sciatica.

Utthanasana: Bring your left leg down while holding the hands above the head. Spread your legs apart with toes pointing outwards. Keeping the back and neck straight and buttocks squeezed in, bend the knees to go down by about ten inches. Maintain Ujjai breath and the chant of LAM. Hold this posture for a count of seven and then go down another ten inches. Once again hold for a count of seven and go further down so as to squat. The heels stay on the floor and the back does not bend. Stay for a count of seven.

The asan must not be practiced in case of uterus prolapse and after three months of pregnancy.

Naukasana: Next, lie down on the back. Exhale, raise your legs (joint together) to about twenty-five degrees. Also raise your upper body and your arms (the arms will point forward) to twenty-five degrees. Maintain the posture for as long as you can. Ensure that your back is straight and knees do not bend. Inhale, come back to the starting position.

In the next article, we will discuss the properties, asans and mantras for swadhishthan and manipoorak chakras.

Arti Tondon

Arti Tondon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *