Yogsutras of Patanjali – Veet Raaga Vishyam Vaa Chittam



Veet Raaga Vishyam Vaa Chittam


Veet: Without

Raaga: Aattachment to pleasure

Vishayam: Objects of senses

Vaa: Also

Chittam: Chitta

(To still oneself on) a chitta which is free from attachments also (purifies the chitta).

You become what you follow, if you follow the sun, you exude its brightness, if you follow a monkey, you end up dancing around trees. Therefore look for a being who is him/herself free from the bondages of maya (attachment) and still yourself on him/her, your bondages will open.


Swapna Nidraa Gyaan Aalambanam Vaa

Swapna: Dream

Nidraa: Sleep

Gyaan: Knowledge through experience

Aalambanam: Depending on, relying on

Vaa: Also

Drawing on the gyan from dreams and sleep pattern also (purifies the chitta).There are four states of mind – conscious, unconscious, subconscious and super-conscious. State of dhyan is the state of super-conscious. Dreams pertain to subconscious, which plays before us our various thoughts and desires juxtaposed with things we see or events that occur around us. However at times, certain subtle experiences also happen in a dream state, which is the activation of super conscious. By studying these various states of mind through practice, being able to differentiate between them and hence, gaining control over them, the chitta gets purified.


Yathaa Abhimat Dhyaanaat Vaa

Yathaa: As per

Abhimat: Individual choice

Dhyaanaat: Through dhyan

Vaa: Also

Through dhyan on an object as per individual capacity and choice also, (chitta gets purified).

No two individuals are same, nor are their desires similar. Yoga is therefore an individual journey and as per individual capacity, whatever satisfies his/her need, one may choose a focus which he/she is able to still him/herself on, when he/she is able to still on that one thing/focus, the chitta will get purified.

TIW Bureau

TIW Bureau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *