Why Everyone Cannot Do Dhyan?


This is a very popular question. If every human is the same, that should mean everyone can become a great Yogi and be graced with the true vision of reality. So why does it not happen? The answer is pretty simple and something most of us do not accept. Desire! People who have the desire to rise above the world of maya and experience reality are the ones who can do dhyan.

According to Patanjali’s Yogsutras, there are eight limbs of Ashtanga Yog -yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyan, samadhi. In the beginning we focus on the 5 yamas which are – ahimsa (non-violence), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya(continence/celibacy) and aparigraha (non-possessiveness).


Once we start following these 5 yamas we begin to get closer to reality. We start achieving siddhis, feel reality and gain experiences. But this is easier said than done. God almighty has created maya, the continuous chain/trap of pleasure and pain for human beings which keeps us entrenched in the physical world. So to do dhyan one needs to control his desires. Or to be more specific, desire for reality more than the desire for physical pleasure. Because it is a fact that one cannot get what one does not desire. If your desire is only sexual pleasure, fighting etc., then how can you focus on reality? You can only focus on one thing at a time in your life, and this applies for dhyan too.

Human body is temporary, a part of the physical world and thus has to perish. It is up to us if we want to make our lifetime count or waste it by being trapped in the maya-jaal of the world. In our bodies we have the life-supporting fluid- sukra, more commonly known as semen. It gives us strength, glow and slows our ageing but as long as it remains in the body. It is produced in us as a continuous life process; however it isn’t unlimited. The body has to finish, so it needs a way to get old and weak, and losing sukra is one of them. No matter how we lose it, through sexual act, wet nights or self-ejaculation, it weakens us every time it leaves the body. Not many people can control this desire…only those who desire the knowledge of reality more than this temporary pleasure can do so.

We humans are energy beings on this planet and look for heat in another human to dissipate our energy. That’s the reason behind wet nights, and not being able to control ourselves after an interaction with someone of the opposite sex. This loss of sukra plays a key role in stopping us from doing dhyan. A human cannot do dhyan till the time he/she doesn’t follow the 5 yamas, and celibacy is the most important of them all. That again answers the question of why everyone can’t do dhyan, and only a select few who actually desire it can do it.

A human being has a total of 16 senses, some commonly known as clairvoyance, clairaudience, extra-sensory perception and premonition. In some people, they are awakened due to past life sadhna and karmas.

To awaken them in this life you have to do yog in its true form…not as taught by the majority of the commercial Gurus that focus on the body and physical desires or bhog.

A physical desire is temporary and will finish very soon; for instance, we tire easily of a computer game and want same thing more and more, but in different ways. It is the same remote and the same commands, even the actions are same yet we desire more, our eyes tire and we look dazed…in the world ageing corresponds to this…this is maya and this is what the whole world is tied to, unreality…

Bhog destroys yog, but bhog is necessary for yog…I intellectually understand this statement and am trying to get its gyan…..would let you know the day I get it.

Rohan Wadera

Rohan Wadera

3 thoughts on “Why Everyone Cannot Do Dhyan?

  1. Why has normal human being been gifted with capability of five senses if the ultimate goal is to overcome desires ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *